top of page
Johanna North

Namaste & Welcome


I think introductions are in order. Hello there, my name is Johanna. I'm a 30-year-old girl originally from Finland but I live in India with my boyfriend, who is a native Indian. It might be quite an unusual decision for a Western girl to marry into a traditional Indian family and culture, and also choose to move to the country.

But I love India almost as much as I love my boyfriend, and I have happily spent the last couple of years exploring and discovering my new home for what it really is.

I have travelled extensively all over India, and Nepal, both solo and with Vinod. I haven't been everywhere in the world - even though it definitely is on my list and Instagram travel inspo folder - but I don't even think I need to ultimately. Sustainability is a key value to me in life, so I try my best to apply it in my travelling habits too.

Low budget travel, roadtrips and nature are my expertise when it comes to tourism/travelling and I happily offer all my info on how to be able to travel and educate yourself even if you don't make a fortune. As a female solo traveller in India, I also very much hope to encourage all my girlfriends out there to the enlightening and liberating experience of travelling alone. I will try to show how it can be done as safely and responsibly as possible.

I think we should all be able to feel well in our surroundings. I feel passionately about improving the society/world we live in, and especially protecting our natural environment. These are not just issues in India, but everywhere in the world. But I firmly believe that the change can start here.

So whatever little visibility I might be able to get out of this, I want to use it for a good cause and fight for an equal world and a clean environment. I hope to inspire you to join me too.

All these good deeds and accomplishments can only be achieved if we also feel good in our own bodies and minds. A happy, healthy person is always capable of greatness, even if it's just to take care of their own family. I'm a hobbyist cook and have a long history in fitness work. So lots of recipes and exercise tips for a balanced life to follow!

But mostly this blog will be just about my everyday life in India. I will share my daily experiences and how we are able to mix two different cultures together at home. I will show you my ups and downs. I'll seek your help when needed, but also give you all my best tips, skills and latest info to put to good use!

I welcome you to take part in my life's story! Well, who are you?

Photos of me: Ellinora Pelamo

bottom of page